{survivor}

The only thing I knew about Chris Cleave’s Little Bee before reading it was the following quote:

…I ask you right here please to agree with me that a scar is never ugly. That is what the scar makers want us to think. But you and I, we must make an agreement to defy them. We must see all scars as beauty. Okay? This will be our secret. Because take it from me, a scar does not form on the dying. A scar means, I survived.

Besides my obvious fascination with scars after years of softball, surgery, and just plain life, I thought these sentences were just so beautiful. It’s just so incredibly powerful: the bond with the reader, the resilience, the spirit of survival just jumps off the page at you.

I’m not really going to tell you anything more about Little Bee. As I said, I knew absolutely nothing about this book before reading it, and even the Amazon reviews I skimmed of it said things along the lines of “we’re not going to tell you anything that happens, but you should read this anyways.” Maybe that’s just how it has to be with this book.

The strength of the writing that initially attracted me did not disappoint in the book as a whole. I read it over the course of two reading stints separated by about two days; during those two days, the book kept constantly popping up in my head. I didn’t want to do anything else but finish it.

Aaahhhhh. I have so many more things I want to say, but they are all just huge spoilers and I can’t do that. Please—just read this book.

 

2 responses

  1. i’ve been meaning to read this for awhile, but i haven’t found the time (i have a huge backlog of novels i want to read). gonna place this at the top of my list though 🙂

    • Do it! Chris Cleave is coming out with another book this month about professional cycling—sounds completely different but I’m excited! (Also they are making a movie of Little Bee starring Nicole Kidman? Less excited about that hahaha.)

Leave a Reply

