{everyone with a heart and an itunes account does}

Well, I don’t know about you, but my weekend went just about like this week’s SNL skit with Adele’s “Someone Like You.”

JK. That was not the story of my weekend. That is the story of every minute of every day of my life, because it was just that good.

(I had really, really hoped to be able to post a video of that skit. Sadly, they are being removed from YouTube as fast as I can find them. If you haven’t seen it yet, please, please watch the episode on Hulu. Emma Stone hosts, the Adele bit is somewhere around 52:00.)

But let’s get serious. While I am still reading Death in the City of Light, today I was thinking (albeit incredibly belatedly) about Borders. In another television reference (my favorite thing to do), anyone catch James Spader’s line on The Office? “Let me tell you how I buy something these days. I know what I want: I go on the Internet, I get the best price. Or I don’t know what I want, and I go to a small store that can help me.”

Now, I was raised on the hippie ideals of supporting local businesses and eschewing big corporations like the plague. Sometimes this gets tricky, like today when I tried to pick a gym that wouldn’t break my unemployed bank. But still, the small mom-‘n’-pops always win in the end. When my parents’ favorite local bookstore went out of business, it was basically like a death in the family.

This made the closing of Borders ethically and emotionally difficult for me. Could I really be sad about the destruction of this megalith of evil? Did people who worked at Borders really deserve my sympathy when they lost their jobs? The answer, of course, is yes. But still—a tiny part of me wondered whether my favorite small-town book joints would still be in business had Borders simply never existed.

What do you think about the Borders liquidation? Any favorite local businesses you wish were still around for you to support? What are your best tips for dealing with the local vs. cheap debacle?

5 responses

    • hmm yeah… the later years at Borders sound disturbingly like my stint at a&f… ahh retail.

      i thought the last paragraph was the most interesting. i totally went to b&n the other day and couldn’t even find the checkout counter behind all the nook folderol!

  1. Hahaha it took me a few tries to find the skit… first there was a bridal shower party and then one called “Let’s Make Technology Hump”. I became confused when trying to figure out how these skits related to this past weekend. But then I finally found the “Someone Like You” skit – classic.

    And B&N was insanity. The Nook saleslady was mean. Maybe in a few more Fridays we’ll have everything figured out.

      • The relation to this weekend was my thinly (slash not even) veiled attempt to work this skit into my post, because it was just THAT GOOD. It competely relates to my life in that every time I stub my toe or spill juice on myself, all I want to do is turn on Adele and sob my way through a carton of B&J’s.

Leave a Reply

